Home » Disney Media, Disney Movies

Release Dates for Next Five ‘Star Wars’ Movies Announced

4 January 2016 No Comment

star wars logoIf you can’t get enough Star Wars in your life, listen up! The release dates for the next five Star Wars films have been announced.

Several of the films are anthology films – not directly related to the new trilogy.

You only have to wait until December 16 for Rouge One: A Star Wars Story. This film stars Felicity Jones, Forest Whitaker, and Mads Mikkelsen and tells the story of a band of Rebel fighters who are planning to steal the plans for the Death Star.

Next up is Star Wars: Episode VIII which is coming to theaters on May 16, 2017. So far we know the film will be directed by Rian Johnson and filming begins this month. The cast will reportedly include Mark Hamill, Daisy Ridley, Oscar Isaac, and John Boyega among others.

In 2018 fans will have a chance to learn Han Solo’s story in Star Wars Anthology: Han Solo (which is just a working title right now). The film is written by Lawrence and Jon Kasden but no cast has been announced.

Star Wars: Episode IX will hit theaters in 2019 but all we know so far is that Colin Trevorrow is the director. Rian Johnson, director of Episode VIII, wrote the script.

And finally in 2020 fans will learn the story behind Boba Fett in Star Wars Anthology: Boba Fett.

All of this means we’re going to (hopefully) get five new Star Wars films in the next four years.


Related Posts

Leave your response!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.