Home » Disney Media, Disney Movies

Walt Disney Records to Release ‘Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides’ Soundtrack May 17

10 May 2011 No Comment

On May 17, 2011, Walt Disney Records will release the soundtrack for Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides. Composer Hans Zimmer, who also composed the music for the previous three Pirates films, has teamed up with guitar duo Rodrigo y Gabriela to create the latest soundtrack. Additionally, the soundtrack will feature performances from trumpet-player Arturo Sandoval and re-mixed songs by some of the top DJs in the world, including Photek, Adam Freeland and Static Revenger.

Fans of the previous Pirates soundtracks will notice the latest soundtrack has a very distinct Latin flavor. Says Zimmer, “we have Penelope Cruz playing Angelica, who’s Spanish, so I felt that there could be some Latin influences in the score for On Stranger Tides.”

That’s where Mexican guitarists Rodrigo y Gabriela come in. Zimmer, who said he has been a fan of the duo for quite some time, also says that “[they’ve] been having a really great time with [the duo] being part of the musical world this film gets to inhabit.”

Cuban born jazz legend Arturo Sandoval also helped add a Latin flair to the soundtrack, and Penelope Cruz’s brother, Eduardo Cruz (a fledgling composer/songwriter) also helped compose a song for the movie.

Here is a list of the songs you will find on the soundtrack:

Track listing

1.”Guilty of Being Innocent of Being Jack Sparrow” — (written by Hans Zimmer)

2.”Angelica” — Featuring Rodrigo y Gabriela (written by Hans Zimmer, Eduardo Cruz, Rodrigo Sanchez and Gabriela Quintero)

3. “Mutiny” — (written by Hans Zimmer)

4. “The Pirate That Should Not Be” — Rodrigo y Gabriela (written by Rodrigo Sanchez, Gabriela Quintero and Hans Zimmer)

5. “Mermaids” — (written by Hans Zimmer and Eric Whitacre)

6. “South of Heaven’s Chanting Mermaids” — Rodrigo y Gabriela (written by Rodrigo Sanchez, Gabriela Quintero and Hans Zimmer)

7. “Palm Tree Escape” — Featuring Rodrigo y Gabriela

8. “Blackbeard” — (written by Hans Zimmer)

9. “Angry and Dead Again” — Rodrigo y Gabriela (written by Rodrigo Sanchez, Gabriela Quintero and Hans Zimmer)

10. “On Stranger Tides” — (written by Hans Zimmer, Geoff Zanelli and Eric Whitacre)

11. “End Credits” — (written by Hans Zimmer)

12. “Guilty of Being Innocent of Being Jack Sparrow” — Remixed by DJ Earworm

13. “Angelica (Grant Us Peace Remix)” — Remixed by Ki:Theory

14. “The Pirate That Should Not Be” — Remixed by Photek

15. “Blackbeard” — Remixed by Super Mash Bros & Thieves

16. “South of Heaven’s Chanting Mermaids” — Remixed by Paper Diamond

17. “Palm Tree Escape” — Remixed by Adam Freeland

18. “Angry and Dead Again” — Remixed by Static Revenger

The soundtrack will be available May 17, wherever music is sold.


Related Posts

Leave your response!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.