Home » Disney Movies

‘Brave,’ ‘Paperman,’ ‘Lincoln’ Earn 2013 Oscars

25 February 2013 No Comment

Last night, Hollywood celebrated the performers, creators, and  at the 2013 Academy Awards. While Argo earned Best Picture, several Disney films were also honored with Oscars at the ceremony, which also included an appearance by the cast of The Avengers.

Following its wins at the BAFTAs, Golden Globes, and Annie Awards, Disney/Pixar’s recent film Brave earned the Oscar for Best Animated Feature. Co-directors Mark Andrews and Brenda Chapman accepted the award, making Chapman the first woman to earn an Oscar for Best Animated Feature. The film beat out fellow Disney nominees Wreck-It Ralph and Frankenweenie. Also recognized last night was the simplistically beautiful Paperman, which earned the Oscar for Best Animated Short.

In addition to Disney’s animation wins, Lincoln was also recognized at the Oscars in the category of Best Actor in a Leading Role. Daniel Day-Lewis took home the award for his intense and moving portrayal of Abraham Lincoln, becoming the first actor in the history of the Academy Awards to earn a record-setting three Oscars in that category.

For a complete list of this year’s Oscar winners, visit the official Oscars website here.


Related Posts

Leave your response!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.